The last meeting...and the lasting one.
National Cabinet examines COVID-19 vaccine rollout strategy
The Crisis Buster – Four-Step Plan to tackle Covid and ensure a bright future
Kuwait participates in Arab-German Health Forum
Lebanese presidential office explains decision to expel journalist from palace
France needs to avoid walking in America’s steps
First day at Grand Serail Mikati says people's needs top priority
Strong Lebanon: Affirmed that giving confidence to the government was linked to the contents of its ministerial statement...
Kuwait defeats Uzbekistan in Asian volleyball championship
Gemayel meets in Egypt with Petroleum & Mineral Resources Minister
Pope Warns Of 'Threat Of Antisemitism' In Europe
France issues special postage stamp marking French-Kuwaiti friendship
Kuwait defeats Uzbekistan in Asian volleyball championship

Kuwait defeats Uzbekistan in Asian volleyball championship


TOKYO-- The Kuwaiti men's volleyball team defeated Uzbekistan 3-1 at the 21st Asian Championship in Chiba Prefecture, Japan, on Tuesday. Kuwait won the first game 29-27 points but lost the second game 16-25 before winning the last two games 25-21 and 25-21 points respectively.

The 21st Asian Men's Volleyball Championship kicked off Sunday in the Japanese cities of Chiba and Funabashi northeast of Tokyo, with 16 teams from across the continent competing through Sept 19. The Kuwaiti team lost its first match in the tournament against China by 3-0 on Sunday, and was also defeated by Australia 3-0 on Monday.

The participating teams were drawn into four groups and the top two teams from each group qualify for the quarter-finals. Kuwait plays in the group C that also includes China, Australia and Uzbekistan. The host Japan was assigned to group A, with India, Qatar and Bahrain.

Group B includes defending Champion Iran, Pakistan, Thailand and Hong Kong, while group D consists of South Korea, Chinese Taipei, Kazakhstan and Saudi Arabia. Both the gold and silver-medalists will secure tickets to the worlds to the 2022 FIVB Volleyball Men's World Club Championship.


Copyright 2007